On the Eve…

Every year, as the New Year approaches, I like to clean.  It’s just what I do.  And I’m not talking about the run of mill dusting and vacuuming that goes on throughout the year, I mean I like to CLEAN.  I feel this urge to organize, sort, toss out the old, donate the unused.  It’s almost like nesting during pregnancy it can get so intense.  And although it has become more and more futile as the years have passed (read–I have two toddlers who can destroy 2 weeks of organization in about 10 seconds flat), I still can’t resist the urge to straighten it all up in an attempt to simplify my life.

This year was no exception, and as I was going through my office, I came across some pictures I had taken 19 years ago.  They were not the first pictures I ever took, and they were not just snapshots of friends and family.  They were pictures from a “photographic outing” that I used to take often when I was young–to find things in nature or architecture or anything that struck me as visually unique or beautiful and capture it on film (literally–there was no such thing as digital at that time!).  It made me realize that I have been pursuing this dream for over 20 years–studying the craft, experimenting with different subjects, and dreaming of a life where I could do this for a living.

Fast forward to today, and I am wrapping up 2010–the year I went into business for myself, doing what I love.  What an AMAZING year!  Now, I have worked in photography in the past, in several different ways–I’ve done nature photography, engagement portraits, wedding photography, concert photography (I even photographed for an interview with Willie Nelson in his trailer!), but it was always something I did “on the side”, as a pipe dream, not to be confused with real life.  It took me a LONG time to get here, but the journey really makes you who you are, and that is so true of me as a photographer.  I don’t believe that I could be as good at what I do, or anywhere near as appreciative of being able to do it, if I hadn’t taken the road that I did.

There are SO many people I have to thank for getting me to where I am today–living my dream–I could write a blog post on each and every one of them (and maybe I will in the year to come!), but to summarize, I have the most amazingly supportive family.  From my parents, to my husband and two little muses :), I am wrapped in a blanket of eternal support, and it really does keep me warm!  I have not forgotten my sister (I bet she thought I did for a second there!), who has not only been supportive, but also is probably the person who finally pushed me off that cliff and made me learn how to fly.  After she set off on her own life changing journey in 2009, I finally found the courage to follow my own dreams.

And I am of course so grateful for all of my clients!  Each and every one of you has a part in this–please revel in it for me, because it is so amazing!  Each one of you has helped me to realize a life long dream, you have changed my life and I really can’t thank you enough.  My business has grown almost entirely from word of mouth…so just by sharing my work with and talking to your friends, you have helped me make this dream a reality.  Thank you, a million times over!  I hope to see all of you again in the coming year, plus have the opportunity to meet new faces, hear new stories, and capture it all through the lens of my camera.  Happy New Year everyone!

One thought on “On the Eve…

  1. Wow! If you ever stop photography (or maybe in conjunction with it) you could write a book! Maybe that can be a project – photos in a book with meaningful commentary!

Leave a Reply

