He is…..IRONMAN! {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

This is a very special image….

This image is that of a man who is about to become an Ironman…lost in thought, preparing for the grueling day ahead.  I love this image of my husband in the pre-dawn light awaiting the start of his very first Ironman.  I love the faraway look on his face, the way he is ever so slightly biting his lower lip.  It’s one of my favorite images of that day because just looking at it makes me feel the anticipation and excitement that was that moment–it is an image I will cherish forever.

But I’ve already gotten ahead of myself in the story!  Back to the beginning…

I remember watching the Ironman when I was younger and thinking how completely amazing it was–crazy, but amazing.  I remember thinking that it just wasn’t possible for normal human beings to accomplish–it wasn’t exactly real.  I never thought that I would be married to an Ironman…I didn’t think that Ironmen could be good husbands, good fathers, or have real jobs.  But my husband is all of that, and an Ironman to boot!  I’m amazed at the journey, and I would be lying if I said it was easy, but a wise man once said that anything worth having is hard to get.  The story really starts much further back, but we’ll save that for another day.  First the preparation (after almost 6 months of dedicated training):

The Day Before:  Practice Swim

Pre-race Prep and Bag/Bike Drop Off:  This is only some of what had to go with for the day’s events…

The Morning of:  We woke up around 4am to get ready and get down to the start…pre-dawn prep

And, again, I told you I love this image 🙂

More than 2500 people in the water at once…it’s hard to grasp the magnitude of it.  Shortly before the start, they played the song Ironman by Black Sabath over the loudspeakers…it literally gave me chills:

The mini cheering squad–they really got into cheering everyone on, and the participants really appreciated it 🙂

In the excitement of the finish (and the massive crowds), I couldn’t get a picture of my husband finishing…but I got it on the megatron :)!

He spent 12 hours and 38 minutes covering 140.6 miles.  At 7:38pm on May 21, 2011, he accomplished what few can will themselves to do.  Now, and forevermore, he is an Ironman.  I love him so much and am so proud of him!   Congratulations Scott!

6 thoughts on “He is…..IRONMAN! {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

Leave a Reply

