Friday Favorites {The Woodlands, TX | Professional Photographer}

Thanks for taking a peek at my new weekly blog series!  I’ve taken so many images, and have so many different favorites for so many various reasons.  Social media, internet, and web-based portfolios are all great; but this online world we live in sometimes leads things to be a bit less personal.  I believe that every image has a story to tell, and that’s what I love doing for my clients so much!  I don’t always get a chance to tell the story behind every image though–what I love about it, what makes it special to me.  So, I thought I would start a weekly blog post that featured one of my favorite images…deconstructed.  The story behind it, the reasons I love it (whether they are technical reasons of lighting/composition/etc., or emotional ones about what and why the image makes me feel).  So check back every week–some of these shares will be personal ones, and others will come from clients’ sessions past and present…one of your images might be featured here!

I’ll start things out with a personal share:

My daughter :).  Okay, so just the fact that she is mine makes me love the image, but there are several small things that make it one of my all time favorites of her.  First of all, her expression.  No, she is not smiling, and some might even think she looks a bit mad or unhappy.  I remember this day well (mostly because I have the images to constantly remind me and keep that memory fresh), and I know that she is not angry, but thinking of something.  What, I have no idea, but I know that she was sitting there for a moment thinking of something before being distracted and wandering off to explore somewhere else.  I love that I continue to wonder what she is thinking about every single time I see this image, and because I will never know but can always guess, it makes the image very magical to me.

I also like that the expression on her face shows a side of her that I adore despite it’s tendency to make me a little crazy.  Among other things, she is a strong, independent, and very stubborn little girl.  All are characteristics that make her somewhat difficult right now, but I know that they will help her grow into a woman who will not back down from her dreams or be told that her life has limits.  I love that the slight watering of her eyes reminds me that the wind that day was indeed quite strong, and I love how it has caught her hair and pushed it out of her face (for once!).  I love the light filtering in behind her and how it hangs on to those windswept strands of her baby fine hair.  I love that the background is hard to make out, but I will always know exactly where we were :).  I love this image so much that it’s hanging as a 16×24 gallery wrap in my Master Bathroom along side another favorite image of my son–they are the first things I see when I get up in the morning, and they never fail to make me smile, to make me feel.  That is why I love this image so much.

Thank you for reading!  Please feel free to leave a note, and be sure to check back next week for another favorite image!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites {The Woodlands, TX | Professional Photographer}

Leave a Reply

