Friday Favorites…”Make them laugh, Make them cry”; Make them Feel {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

I’ve taken so many images, and have so many different favorites for so many various reasons.  Social media, internet, and web-based portfolios are all great; but this online world we live in sometimes leads things to be a bit less personal.  I believe that every image has a story to tell, and that’s what I love doing for my clients so much!  I don’t always get a chance to tell the story behind every image though–what I love about it, what makes it special to me.  So, I thought I would start a weekly blog post that featured one of my favorite images…deconstructed.  The story behind it, the reasons I love it (whether they are technical reasons of lighting/composition/etc., or emotional ones about what and why the image makes me feel).  So check back every week–some of these shares will be personal ones, and others will come from clients’ sessions past and present…one of your images might be featured here!

Baby T on his parents’ bed :).  I absolutely love this image…it’s one that I look back on a lot, and just sit and stare at for a while.  I love the geometrical pattern on the pillows, I love how the color work so well contrasting each other against the pure white bedspread, I love that it is his own little blanket that he’s wrapped in so snugly, and I love that I could find the light to make the shot work (all natural light).  I also love that I had just gotten a new lens that was perfect for the tight space to get this capture (it’s always fun to play with new toys :)!).  But what I really love most of all about this image is where it was taken–in his own home, on his parents’ bed.  I know that my family spends a lot of time goofing around on Mommy and Daddy’s bed–maybe not the restful sleeping in while the kids watch cartoons kind I had hoped for, but lots of memorable pillow fights and tickle battles have taken place there.  I’m guessing their family will spend plenty of time playing together in that room, on that bed.  Years from now, not only will this picture bring back memories of their newborn baby, but of all of the time they spent playing together and being silly right there in that room.  This baby’s mother sent me a note after their images were complete telling me how much the pictures taken on their bed touched her, and she ended up using two of them for the birth announcements.  Any opportunity there is to make an image more personal is an opportunity to make it more timeless, and to ensure that it will always make my clients feel something when they look back at it.  A childhood mentor of mine once told me–you’ve gotta either “make them laugh or make them cry”.  As with any form of Art, you know you’ve done a good job if it makes people feel.

Do you know someone who is having a baby soon?  Looking for the perfect Baby Shower gift?  I am now offering gift certificates in any amount!  You can start her towards her Newborn Session (a gift she will truly cherish forever), or pay for the entire creative fee and get her a $100 gift print credit at the same time.  Contact me at sarajensenphotography@hotmail.com for more details or to purchase!

***Special this week***  Leave one comment below to be entered to win a $5 Starbucks gift card.  For an extra entry, subscribe to my blog and leave a separate comment telling me that you did!  If you already are subscribed, leave a comment letting me know!  (Maximum 2 entries per person.  This contest is not affiliated in any way with Facebook.  Drawing to be held on Monday June 20th)

13 thoughts on “Friday Favorites…”Make them laugh, Make them cry”; Make them Feel {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

  1. Oh and I subscribed! I like this site I might switch mine to it it’s easier for people to get to I think than google!

  2. and who knew you could subscribe to the blog?! I guess I never saw that option, cause I mainly look at it on my phone. But I did! Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

  3. Ok–you know I love this one! Enjoyed seeing it up. I have a copy of the birth announcement in my office at wk and just this week, a friend/coworker commented how great a shot it was and how great a photographer you were! Thanks again!

  4. I love this Friday Favorites idea! Hearing the stories behind the photos is so fun. This picture is so sweet and I totally agree, Mommy and Daddy’s bed is always full of laughter and love in our house too!

  5. I love this photo too! It is absolutely wonderful that your photography is so personalized. Taking pictures in a studio setting loses that memorable magic and you have a wonderful ability to capture the moment, which is why we cherish your business and recommend you to all our friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

