A Little R and R…Personal (and picture heavy!) Share {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

…Well, as much R and R as you can get with two toddlers in tow :)!

My son had been begging to go to the beach–and I mean full on begging…pretty please with everything on top and puppy dog eyes to boot!  My husband was craving a road trip (I don’t know what strange illness overtook him to have such a desire with the aforementioned two toddlers, but none the less…).  So, instead of a quick day trip to Galveston we found ourselves on a day long journey along the Gulf Coast to the Grand Sandestin Resort.  I must shamefully admit at this point that I did not have high hopes for a 10+ hour car ride with my kiddos–45 minutes to IKEA can be torture at times–but I was game for an adventure and knew we would all *probably* survive.

Well, I had the time of my life!  It was not just watching my kids frolic in the waves and dig in the sand that I loved, but the whole process.  It really brought me back to my childhood–we took plenty of road trips when I was growing up, and this was so reminiscent of those days.  This was a last minute trip, and there weren’t many options left at reasonable rates for us, so we ended up in a studio condo–all sharing the same space.  We almost didn’t go because of this–the kids needed their own room so they could go to bed at a reasonable time and nap if they needed to, right?  Wait a minute–all those childhood road trips I mentioned–we always shared a room with my parents…one big happy family for better or for worse :).  So, adventure on!  Again, I loved it.  The kids stayed up late and watched movies with us, they climbed and jumped on our bed–and I loved it.  I loved that we could all coexist in that small space and have fun.  It brought me back to a simpler time when we didn’t need so much.  I would gladly do it again.

So, a great adventure and some very valuable lessons learned…I can’t wait until our next road trip!  Here are some of my favorite images from the trip (I’ll post more on Facebook because there were just too many for this blog post!).  Hope you enjoy and maybe get a little inspiration for your own family adventure!  And of course feel free to leave a comment telling me about your own traveling fun!

We spent every evening at the playground…yes I said evening, these first few playground shots were taken at 6400 ISO!The beach, of course….

Exploring the piers, feeding the fish (and a crab), plus the other little things :).

4 thoughts on “A Little R and R…Personal (and picture heavy!) Share {The Woodlands, TX | Photographer}

  1. Looks like a wonderful time…I so love the very last pic…priceless you have to fame that.It would be good to pull out when they are teens and telling each other to “go away” Total Sweetness:)

Leave a Reply

