Friday Favorites…Drama, Mood, and Classic Beauty {The Woodlands, TX | Child Photographer}

I’ve taken so many images, and have so many different favorites for so many various reasons.  Social media, internet, and web-based portfolios are all great; but this online world we live in sometimes leads things to be a bit less personal.  I believe that every image has a story to tell, and that’s what I love doing for my clients so much!  I don’t always get a chance to tell the story behind every image though–what I love about it, what makes it special to me.  So, I thought I would start a weekly blog post that featured one of my favorite images…deconstructed.  The story behind it, the reasons I love it (whether they are technical reasons of lighting/composition/etc., or emotional ones about what and why the image makes me feel).  So check back every week–some of these shares will be personal ones, and others will come from clients’ sessions past and present…one of your images might be featured here!

There is something about sillouhettes that I just love–the drama, the mood, the classic beauty.  All of that also describes most little kids I know, and I think that’s what made it such a perfect fit when I put the two together for this image.  I love how she is reaching out for her Mom just out of sight on the other side of the door–you can’t see her face, but if you are a parent, you can probably imagine the look that is there.  That sweet look your child gives you with eyes asking to be lifted up and held close.

I love the different use of light that is involved in creating a sillouhette.  Light is everything to a photographer–learning how to control it, how to change it, how to use it best, and more than anything how to respect it and let it help you showcase your subject and the story you are trying to tell.

I also love this image just for the fact that it exists.  It holds a special place in my heart as with several others from this session, as the “images that almost never were”.  You might not be able to tell from this picture, but it was raining outside.  We stayed optimistic and kept thinking it would pass–we even shot right through it outside for a bit when it slowed down to a drizzle–but it never did stop for us that evening.  If we hadn’t given it a try though, there are several beautiful and classic images that never would have been, so I let it serve as a reminder to me in other areas to not let small roadblocks stand in my way and to try and always remember to see the sun through the clouds–you never know what you’ll be missing if you don’t try :).

One thought on “Friday Favorites…Drama, Mood, and Classic Beauty {The Woodlands, TX | Child Photographer}

Leave a Reply

