Friday Favorites…He’s Their Whole World :) {Houston, TX | Baby Photographer}

I’ve taken so many images, and have so many different favorites for so many various reasons.  Social media, internet, and web-based portfolios are all great; but this online world we live in sometimes leads things to be a bit less personal.  I believe that every image has a story to tell, and that’s what I love doing for my clients so much!  I don’t always get a chance to tell the story behind every image though–what I love about it, what makes it special to me.  So, I thought I would start a weekly blog post that featured one of my favorite images…deconstructed.  The story behind it, the reasons I love it (whether they are technical reasons of lighting/composition/etc., or emotional ones about what and why the image makes me feel).  So check back every week–some of these shares will be personal ones, and others will come from clients’ sessions past and present…one of your images might be featured here!

I absolutely love adding personal touches to my client’s sessions–every session I do includes in Information Meeting with my client ahead of time so we can get to know each other a little bit, talk about details of the session, and so I can start to figure out if there is something significant that we can incorporate into the session to help tell their story.  When I met this couple and found out how much they love to travel, and that they had even lived overseas, I really wanted to tell that part of their story.  When I found out that this baby was actually conceived in Greece, I had to tell the story.

So, the wheels started turning, and this is what I came up with.  I loved the idea that I could use a whole globe in their Maternity Session and then take it apart and turn it into a bowl for their newborn session.  I also loved that it represented a more universal idea about the degree of love that parents have for their children–I couldn’t get “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands” out of my head.  There is no love as great as the love you will feel for your child and they truly become your everything–your Whole World.

So I set out to find a more “aged” looking globe (I didn’t want it to look like I just pulled it off the shelf at Target–it just wouldn’t have the same feel that way). I found the perfect one at a local antique store and started planning my shots around it.

This project was not without adversity–the globe stand actually broke AT the Maternity Session, right BEFORE we started.  Dad kindly mended it for me as best as possible with bandaging tape they had in their car (quite fitting for a man married to a nurse :)) so it would stand up on it’s own for at least a couple of minutes to get the shots above–I was determined not to let all of this planning go to waste!  And then, when prepping for their newborn session, I discovered that taking apart a globe is not quite as simple as I had anticipated.  Well worth it though when the last piece of the picture took it’s place.  Baby A fit in it perfectly and slept like a champ for me to make it all possible.

A few notes about the details of these images–I used the top half of the globe even though that put it upside down.  Mostly because I wanted the baby’s “conception country” to be in the image, and that required the top half (Greece).  Also, if you haven’t noticed before, the Northern Hemisphere has a lot more going on–much more photogenic :).

I did also get some images of baby in the globe while not in Dad’s hands, so the whole time the globe was counter-weighted under the blanket to help even it out, and I had a spotter/assistant (Thank you Natalie!) for all of the shots taken with baby in the globe no matter where it was placed.  Please always consider baby’s safety first when attempting any type of Newborn shot!

Some people might say that’s a lot of effort to go into one client’s session, but the truth is, it’s the kind of effort I put into all of my client’s sessions.  If there isn’t anything they want to incorporate as a prop, I’m still finding out everything I can to make the final images unique and personal for them.  It’s just one of the parts of my job that I truly love and enjoy!  Happy Friday everyone–have a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “Friday Favorites…He’s Their Whole World :) {Houston, TX | Baby Photographer}

Leave a Reply

