Soulful Eyes…Baby G’s Client Preview Continued {The Woodlands, TX | Baby Photographer}

And now for both versions of this image from Facebook, and a little insight on how I convert my images to black and white….

Color:

DSC_2704 copy

 

Black and White:

DSC_2704bw copy

 

I love both versions of this image, and think they each convey a different feel to them so of course both will be in the final gallery :).  The black and white really does emphasize the soulfulness of his eyes though….

For the photography enthusiasts out there, a little insight into my process for black and white conversions:

I photograph everything in color, never using the monochrome option on my camera–all of my conversions are done in post processing.  I do not have a “one click fix” for black and white.  Each conversion is a process of it’s own, and what I do will vary according to the image I’m working with and what kind of light, color,  and contrast are in it to start out with.  In general though, I use a combination of gradient maps (from black to white) and a levels layer (all in photoshop) to achieve the amount of contrast I’m looking for.  I also use a very slight toning in all of my black and whites to help keep them from being too harsh even when they are higher in contrast.  Hope that interests someone out there :).  Have a great Wednesday!

One thought on “Soulful Eyes…Baby G’s Client Preview Continued {The Woodlands, TX | Baby Photographer}

Leave a Reply

